barnettebakes

Created to chronicle Baking with Julia adventures; hopefully to conquer new adventures from there!

Moon rocks, shamrocks and Irish Soda Bread

This simple recipe was so appealing to me this weekend. It seemed to represent the idea of earthiness, simplicity and a utilitarian “making do.”   I had visions of shamrocks dancing in my head as I started.  Leave it to me to have more difficulty with this recipe than with the detailed chocolate tart recipe.  Long story short, I believe that I did not whisk the ingredients well enough for the dough to “come together” OR I used a tad too much buttermilk.  Whichever the culprit may have been, my dough was close the consistency of sticky painters putty or plaster.  I had to call in a set of extra hands (as mine were coated in this plaster dough) to keep adding flour to the kneading surface so it was even semi-manageable. I had a sinking feeling just putting it into the oven that this bread was doomed.  It did look hard and crusty when it came out, though not is a good way.  More in a large moon rock sculpture way.   To my surprise, it proved edible. The bread had a nice texture, a little dense, but soft and moist. We ate it warm from the oven with a nice roast chicken dinner.   By the next afternoon, the entire loaf was as hard and crusty as a moon rock.  No shamrock luck here, just simple, short-lived goodness!

Single Post Navigation

5 thoughts on “Moon rocks, shamrocks and Irish Soda Bread

  1. It was a very forgiving recipe, although a short shelf life once done :)

  2. Your Bread looks Lovely … !!! Great job !!!! I never thought baking a bread can get that easy !!!

  3. My dough was the exact same way, I think it is just the recipe.

  4. Teresa on said:

    I’m glad you were able to enjoy it, even if it was a fleeting pleasure!

  5. Whew – glad you were able to make it all work :-)

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

